BACK ON THE BANDWAGON | SLIMMING WORLD | VEGAN

Wow… 2017….

Time has really been getting away from me lately. The house has come on leaps and bounds since I last posted, in fact we have just submitted plans to building control for the long-awaited extension. And let me tell you, I cannot wait to FINALLY have a kitchen!

But in the mean time, I’m back on the Slimming World band wagon (after falling off HARD). I thought I’d post some of the Slimming World friendly Vegan recipes I’ve been enjoying. I’m all about quick, low-syn and tasty… and if you’re like me then I know you’ll love these.

First off, I’m a repetitive eater. Once I get something I like I tend to make it again and again. I like simple, tasty things and am not a fan of a load of fuss… or mess.

Secondly, I do SW the old-school way – green days with 2xHEA and 2xHEB. None of this EE malarkey for me. I find the old Green SW plan very much like the Starch Solution (think High Carb Hannah) and it’s definitely something that works.

Finally, that photo up there in the top right hand corner of me… well it’s five years old now. It was taken just after I got back from China… right around the time I stopped doing SW. I am a good four stone heavier now. And it’s that four stone that has to go.

So, here’s the plan. I’m just pretty much going to go back to eating 100% healthy, no sneaky Vego bars, no Booja Booja or Swedish Glace, no Alpro Vanilla Icecream, no McDonalds, no Hunky Dory’s Cheese and Onion, no Pringles dipped in humous and definitely no bagels smothered in Tofutti Cream Cheese (unless absolutely necessary)… you get the idea.

My SWV breakfast was always the same (unless it’s a Sunday – that’s SW fry-up day) –

  • 40g of Weetabix Crispy Mini Chocolate Flavour with Alpro Light Soya Milk – sometimes I chuck some blueberries in too
  • 2 slices of Wholemeal Nimble (or similar) with 1 sliced banana on top
  • Coffee with Alpro Light Soya Milk

Lunch was always leftovers from the previous night’s dinner… I would usually add a pile of salad to the side… or a can of mixed veg…

Dinner is quick, healthy, and although it usually does contain a few syns, there’s no more than about 3 per portion (as I have it for lunch the next day too).

Snacks really aren’t a big factor for me… if Im hungry I’ll eat, if not I won’t. I’d rather eat a SWV pasta dish or some vegetable broth if I’m hungry instead of having a snack ‘to see me through until lunch time’. Eat when hungry was my old SW motto – I always found that eating something substantial when you’re hungry is better than eating a load of oranges (or similar) as a snack to just kind of damp down the hunger until a set meal time…

Eat when hungry.

So that’s what I’m up to… besides house-stuff. I’ll post a few recipes of the things I’m eating up here just incase anyone is interested in trying them.

KWJ

Leave a Reply

